Jana’s Campaign to Participate at United Nations Meetings

UN-Women-logo-250x106Hays, KS – Jana’s Campaign staff and board members will be participating in meetings at the United Nations from March 9th through March 16th in New York City. Last year, Jana’s Campaign received Special Consultative Status from the UN’s Economic and Social Council to participate in the United Nations Commission on the Status of Women.

“This status allows us to learn and provide input at the international level on issues of gender-based violence”, says Curt Brungardt, Jana’s Campaign board president. “We will be rotating people in and out through the two weeks. By participating in this opportunity we will learn from international experts and bring back what we’ve learned to our region. Secondly, we hope to provide our input to the growing knowledge-base of how to reduce violence against women worldwide.”

“I would like to thank our board members who are committing their valuable time and own personal finances to make this project possible,” says Brungardt. “We have a committed board and staff who are working hard and committing themselves to reducing gender and relationship violence.”

The Commission on the Status of Women (CSW) is a global intergovernmental body exclusively dedicated to the promotion of gender equality and the empowerment of women. In 1995, the Beijing Declaration and Platform for Action was adopted by the Fourth World Conference on Women. This Platform for Action called on world governments to take action addressing multiple aspects of gender inequality, among them violence against women. The Platform for Action states, “Violence against women is an obstacle to the achievement of the objectives of equality, development and peace.”

Jana’s Campaign is a Hays-based national education and violence prevention organization with the mission of reducing gender and relationship violence. Jana’s Campaign was established in honor of the late Jana Mackey, who was a 2000 Hays High graduate and lost her life to domestic violence in 2008. Board members participating are: Mark Russell (Houston, TX), Michelle McCormick (Topeka, KS), Curt and Christie Brungardt (Hays, KS), Heather Lambert (Lincoln, NE), Tre’ Giles (Colorado Springs, CO), and Elizabeth Landau (Washington D.C.). Staff members participating include Danielle Dougherty and Kelley Parker.

Share this entry